Skip links
2021 press freedom awards

Nomination call for 2021 press freedom awards

The International Press Institute (IPI) and International Media Support (IMS) are now welcoming nominations for the 2021 IPI World Press Freedom Hero Award and the IPI-IMS Free Media Pioneer Award.

IPI’s World Press Freedom Hero Award honours journalists who have made significant contributions to the promotion of press freedom, particularly in the face of great personal risk. Past recipients include Angolan investigative journalist Rafael Marques, Syrian reporter Mazen Darwish, and renowned Mexican journalist and author Lydia Cacho. Other past recipients include Russian journalist Anna Politkovskaya, Washington Post publisher Katherine Graham, and Turkish-Armenian journalist Hrant Dink.

The annual IPI-IMS Free Media Pioneer Award recognizes news or media organizations that have made innovations that have promoted news access or quality, or benefited journalists and the media community, thereby ensuring freer and more independent media in their country or region.

IPI and IMS welcome nominations from around the world for the 2021 awards. Deadline is Wednesday, July 21.

The awards will be presented on September 16 in Vienna during a special ceremony as part of IPI’s 2021 World Congress.

Learn more HERE.


Moonshot News is an independent European news website for all IT, Media and Advertising professionals, powered by women and with a focus on driving the narrative for diversity, inclusion and gender equality in the industry.

Our mission is to provide top and unbiased information for all professionals and to make sure that women get their fair share of voice in the news and in the spotlight!

We produce original content, news articles, a curated calendar of industry events and a database of women IT, Media and Advertising associations.

    Do you want an experienced opinion on a job issue?
    Moonshot Manager is here to answer!

      Moonshot community sharing thoughts and ideas, in a anonymous, safe environment.