Skip links
Monst Nobel Prize winners are announced in Stockholm

“Nobel Week 2022: 892 men and 60 women

952 individuals in total have been awarded a Nobel prize. 60 of them are women! There have been 61 prizes to women in total as Marie Curie was honoured twice, Prize in Physics 1903 and Prize in Chemistry 1911. Among the laureates are also organisations. Two women have been awarded during the 2022 Nobel Week. Prize in Economics to be announced on October 10.

The gender numbers improved – two more women – when French writer Annie Ernaux was awarded the 2022 Prize in Literature, for “the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots and collective restraints of personal memory”. Three scientists, one women and two men, have been awarded the 2022 The Nobel Prize in Chemistry for snipping molecules together, known as click chemistry: Carolyn Bertozzi, Morton Meldal, and Barry Sharpless

The ”Nobel Week” last year resulted in 13 new laureates – 1 woman and 12 men! But introducing quotas is out of the question according to the head of the Royal Swedish Academy of Science that is one of the groups of scientists and specialists deciding about Nobel Prizes.

“It’s sad that there are so few women Nobel laureates and it reflects the unfair conditions in society, particularly in years past, but still existing. And there’s so much more to do,” Göran Hansson, head of the academy, said last year in an interview with news agency AFP. 

Read Also:  Nobel Peace Prize awarding fight for freedom of expression

“We have decided we will not have quotas for gender or ethnicity”, he said.

Journalist and publisher Maria Ressa, Philippines, was the only woman awarded in 2021 when she shared the Peace Prize with her Russian colleague Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression.

The youngest laureate so far is Pakistani Malala Yousafzai who was only 17 years old when she in 2014 got the Peace Prize for her work defending children’s rights.

Winner(s) of Prize in Economics for the 2022 Nobel Week will be announced on October 10. 

Read Also:  The Nobel Prizes over the years: 57 women, 877 men

On 27 November 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace – the Nobel Prizes. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden’s central bank) established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.






Moonshot News is an independent European news website for all IT, Media and Advertising professionals, powered by women and with a focus on driving the narrative for diversity, inclusion and gender equality in the industry.

Our mission is to provide top and unbiased information for all professionals and to make sure that women get their fair share of voice in the news and in the spotlight!

We produce original content, news articles, a curated calendar of industry events and a database of women IT, Media and Advertising associations.

    Do you want an experienced opinion on a job issue?
    Moonshot Manager is here to answer!

      Moonshot community sharing thoughts and ideas, in a anonymous, safe environment.